Kylie Minogue OBE

29 12 2007

It was announced last night that Kylie will be awarded an OBE in this years New Years Honours List. Speaking from Melbourne where she is spending Christmas with her family, Kylie told reporters, “I am almost as surprised as I am honoured to be awarded an OBE by Her Majesty the Queen.  I feel deeply touched to be acknowledged by the UK, my adopted home, in this way.”

Talking about her return to the public eye after beating breast cancer, Kylie added, “This last year I have felt so much love and support from everyone as I took greater steps back into the public domain, and it is with absolute gratitude and joy that I say farewell to 2007 and look forward to what the new year will bring.”

Other honours for media personalities included a knighthood for veteran British television interviewer Michael Parkinson and lesser awards for sports commentator Desmond Lynam and Ian Anderson, who fronts rock band Jethro Tull.  Actors Leslie Phillips, known for playing the quintessential Englishman during a more than 50-year-long movie career, and Julie Walters, who has appeared in the “Harry Potter” films and “Educating Rita”, were both granted awards.

Article supplied by GlitterChic

Actions

Information




