Kylie’s Hopes & Fears

6 04 2008

As she prepares to celebrate her 40th birthday next month Kylie talked to Paris Match magazine about her hopes for a family and her fears that the cancer she so bravely battled could strike back. “It’s not over, I still go for regular check-ups. The ‘voyage’ doesn’t end suddenly. That’s why it’s so difficult to talk about it.”

Kylie goes on to explain how she was touched by people’s kindness during her months of chemotherapy. “I remember one day in Paris during my treatment when I was in a cafe on the corner – and at the time I was really glad if I could make it as far as there. A young man approached me and gave me a rose. He said simply, ‘Be brave. We’re thinking of you’.

“There’s a song on my album called Stars which says that ‘the stars don’t just shine in one place’. I wanted to say that because even in the darkest moments, there’s always beauty and light. When I was in hospital with people I’d never met who had my life in their hands, we were able to laugh together, even in terrifying situations.”

Kylie reveals to the magazine that she had been warned against announcing she had cancer, as some people feared it could harm her career. “I’d be lying if I said all of my management were in agreement.” However, in the end she was glad she had decided to go public, “It’s wonderful to know that in talking about it, I’m perhaps helping women, families and also some men with breast cancer,” she said.

When asked about her feelings on motherhood, Kylie explains that while she loves the idea of a family, she doesn’t feel she needs to be a mother to feel fulfilled. “It’s a difficult question, because it’s not as easy as that,” she told Paris Match. “If it happens, it will be marvellous. I love the idea of a family but I won’t tell myself that I absolutely have to have children to make my life complete.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

